ILTA Hosts Fall 2023 EHSS Committee Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri!
International Liquid Terminals Association
  • Join


A respected industry publication for ILTA members, this monthly newsletter highlights legislative and regulatory activities affecting terminal facilities. It also provides news on recent business development within the terminal industry, including new construction, expansions, acquisitions and additions to ILTA's membership, as well as important information about ILTA's committee meetings, conferences and training events. ILTA also offers ILTA News Plus to members. This publication, sent on weeks that ILTA News is not published, aggregates industry and member news.

Read the Current Issue

2024 Newsletters

March, FebruaryJanuary

2023 Newsletters



Not a member? Join ILTA today and stay up-to-date withILTA News and ILTA News Plus.
Christopher Meilink
/ Categories: ILTA News Articles

ILTA Hosts Fall 2023 EHSS Committee Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri!

ILTA’s annual Fall Environment, Health, Safety & Security Committee meeting was held in St. Louis, Missouri over September 26-27. The two-day event began with a morning tour of America’s Central Port led by Dennis Wilmsmeyer of America’s Central Port.

The afternoon opened with Dennis Wilmsmeyer where he provided an overview of St. Louis and the surrounding port system and waterways.  Afterwards, the Security Committee co-chair Jerry Jerdine of Ergon, Inc. introduced Lieutenant Commander Jeffrey Bender with U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) and he provided an update on the TWIC Reader Rule. Then, Tyson Sigette, with the USCG, presented on cybersecurity and the impact on the terminal industry.  Jerry Jerdine then led a Security Committee roundtable and discussed the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards Program (CFATS) expiration; identification and impact of future threats and USCG Enforcement of Cybersecurity Rules at Terminals; and Enterprise Security Rick Management best practices.  The Security Committee discussion ended with a presentation from Lieutenant Commander Sarah Rodino on an overview of the Captain of the Port’s office and area of responsibility (AOR) for the Upper Mississippi River (UMR) Sector.

The Environmental Committee, headed by Jay Leduc of Sprague Energy and Keith Ocheski of Buckeye Partners, LP led the afternoon discussion with Jaime White of NuStar Energy that reviewed the environmental regulatory matrix including hazardous air pollutants, new source performance standards for liquid storage tanks, air emission reporting requirements from EPA, air inspections and FLIR cameras and other clean air act section 114, environmental justice guidance, and per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) and several other important topics.  Then Rob Ferry with Trinity Consultants led the discussion about updates on the Gasoline Distribution Rule.

Wednesday began with the Health and Safety Committee co-chair Byrne Evans of IMTT leading a conversation on the committee’s regulatory tracker, which included Process Safety Management Rule (PSM), OSHA Heat Injury Rule and OSHA Welding in Construction Confined Spaces.  Then, Aaron Gelb with Conn Maciel, discussed OSHA’s efforts to address Cannabis, Opioids, and Heat Rules.  Later, Byrne delivered a report from the Platinum Safety Award Working Group on revising the Platinum Safety Award Application.  Then, Dennis Mendenhall of Marathon Petroleum began a discussion about California new requirements regarding zero emission transport evaluation.  Anthony Blake of Martin Midstream Partners L.P followed and provided a report from the Small Unmanned Aerial Systems (sUAS) Advisory Council convened by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS).  The Environment Committee Co-Chair, Keith Ocheski, led final discussion on EPA’s storage tank assessment with remote sensing technology (G-START).

Previous Article ILTA Letter to EPA on NSPS Kc Rule Development Costs to Control Tank Degassing
Next Article ILTA Hosts Energy Transition Webinar with Dr. Asha-Dee Celestine, DOE
784 Rate this article:
No rating
Please login or register to post comments.